MisplacedWomen?

Zagreb (Croatia), Central train station, June 25, 2009

In Railway-stations, Zagreb on November 4, 2009 at 1:58 pm

Misplaced Women?

Performed by Hyla Willis

100_3927
On the way from Pittsburgh to Zagreb, my luggage was misplaced for several days. I bought some PSi conference t shirts and a few other cheap things to wear in the complex of underground shops at the train station. I changed clothes, combed my hair and repacked the old and new items in the backpack I had carried on board the plane. This was performed behind the train station: a place that seemed to host an entirely different demographic of people and businesses than the “front” of the station did. It gave me strange recollections of a very itinerant period in my childhood when a sturdy cardboard box for furniture or a bit of privacy for grooming were cherished commodities.
At the same time, I was fully aware of the Kunas in my pocket and the cozy hotel room I was sharing a few blocks away.

Photos: subRosa

Leave a Reply

