MisplacedWomen?

Bergen, Public Language School for Foreigners, Nygårdsskolen, November 2, 2011

In Bergen on November 9, 2011 at 4:49 pm

“Misplaced Women? Marking the City”
Performed by Karen Kipphoff

in front of the Public Language School for Foreigners in Bergen, on November 2, 2011 at 13:10.

Karen Kipphoff and a man from Bergen in front of the school for foreigners, holding up signs spelling the Norwegian word for “you” and “me” in both High Norwegian Bokmål and the local dialect. This was very confusing to learn as they all are essentially the same but the phonetic difference is enormous. There was big insecurity around which would be the correct form to use meg (me), meg (me), jeg (I), eg (I), deg (you), deg (you). Every person who helped got to pick their favorite version of the me, myself and I signs.

Karen Kipphoff is a media and performance artist of German origin who teaches at Kunsthøgskolen in Bergen, Norway.

http://videomedeja.org/en/karen-kipphoff

Photo: Karen Kipphoff

Organized by Stiftelsen 3,14
http://www.stiftelsen314.com/Stiftelsen314/Performance.htm

Leave a Reply

