MisplacedWomen?

Aberdeen International Airport, United Kingdom, March 31, 2015

In Aberdeen, Airports, Signs on April 8, 2015 at 11:15 am

Misplaced Women? Sign held by Amy Bryzgel at the domestic arrivals halls, Aberdeen International Airport, UK

Photo: Tanja Ostojic

Amy Bryzgel at Aberdeen Airport. Photo: Tanja Ostojic

Photo: Tanja Ostojic

On March 31, 2015, Tanja Ostojic arrived in Aberdeen to give a workshop to students on “Misplaced Women?” and also participate in a Director’s Cut interview at the University of Aberdeen. She invited me to do this delegated performance when I picked her up at the airport, so of course I agreed. As the author of numerous publications on performance art, I am all for performative airport pick-ups!

Misplaced Women sign Photo: Amy Bryzgel

Misplaced Women sign
Photo: Amy Bryzgel

Misplaced Women sign by Amy Bryzgel

Photo: Amy Bryzgel

Am I a Misplaced Woman? I often ask myself where my place in the world is. I was born and raised in America, but lived for several years in Poland and Latvia, where I also learned both of those languages and attempted to integrate into local society in each place. Now, I live in Scotland, which has its own identity in the UK. The city I live in is Aberdeen, which is known for being an oil capital of Europe, as well as its its ancient university; so, by definition, it is a migrant city. I think it is difficult to fit in anywhere, even in your home country, because there is always something that makes you different from those that surround you. But I also have spent much of my adult life dealing with work and study visas, and amassing mountains of paperwork to get the necessary permissions to stay in the countries where I am not a natural born citizen. So I understand migration from its many different aspects.

  1. […] day before the workshop, when Tanja arrived in Aberdeen, she invited me to participate in the project by carrying a sign to greet her at the airport – not with her name on it, as is customary, but with the text “Misplaced Women.” I of course […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] ”Misplace Women?” sign held by Amy Bryzgel, on Aberdeen International Airport, Scotland, March 31, 2015. Photo: Tanja […]

    Like

Comments are closed.